9 “cheat” foods you didn’t know were vegan


At Healthy Happy Hippie, we promote a wholesome, balanced lifestyle… and that means enjoying a cheat day every once in a while. While these junk foods should be avoided due to their lack of nutritional value, don’t be afraid to reach for them the next time you need some refined carbohydrates.

1. Oreos

Yes, that’s right. America’s favorite cookie can be enjoyed by those who eat a plant-based diet!

2. Betty Crocker Cake Mix… and icing

Vegans, take note! You don’t have to bake a cake from scratch every time you’re craving a slice!

3. Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos

Craving salt with a crunch? Fear no more! You don’t have to munch on kale chips next time you have a hankering.

4. Pillsbury Crescent Rolls

Don’t miss out this holiday season! If you’ve been skipping these flaky treats at every family get-together, there’s no need.


5. Aunt Jemima’s Pancake Mix

Just add a flax egg and almond milk instead of the animal by-products as the box instructs, and you’ve got yourself a delicious breakfast!

6. Graham Crackers

Find some vegan marshmallows and you can enjoy S’mores!


7. Dark chocolate

It’s a common misconception that all chocolate is off limits to vegans. In fact, most dark chocolate in the form of chips, bars, etc. doesn’t contain any animal by-products!

8. Twizzlers

Halloween is a bummer when you’re a vegan. But if you like licorice, you can enjoy these sweet treats! Other candy like Sour Patch Kids and Jolly Ranchers are also vegan. As a general rule of thumb, just avoid products with gelatin – this animal-derived ingredient is found in most confectionaries.


9. Sorbet

In the mood for some ice cream? Sorbet isn’t quite the same, but it certainly eases the craving.